Chakras and How They Relate to Gemstones

March 14, 2019

While the original idea of birthstones is said to be related to the twelve tribes of Israel, and then to the astrological calendar, the modern birthstones were decided by the National Association of Jewelers in 1912.

Each stone is said to have different properties, characteristics, and powers for the wearer.  Many of my customers choose a gemstone based on it's mystical powers to help set or represent an intention in life. While the origin or powers behind gemstones may not resonate with everyone, the different gemstones are a great way to commemorate and celebrate special occasions in our lives.  

I will also be talking about how each gemstone relates to your chakra, so just a quick definition of what a chakra is. There are seven main chakras, which align along the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the top of your head. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs-- we call them energy centers. These each relate to our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. You can read more about Chakras and how they affect our every day lives here.

Purchase our Chakra Crystal Kit here.

The seven chakras are: 

First Chakra (Base or Root): The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs.

Stone: Pink Tourmaline, Garnets, Ruby

Unbalanced: You may feel lethargic, have low levels of activity, lowered enthusiasm/joy, and a need for constant stimulation.

Balanced: You will regain your physical strength and stamina. Your spiritual energy will start to flow and you feel more secure and have a sense of your own power. It often leads to independence and spontaneous leadership


Second Chakra (Sacral): The Svadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. 

Stone: Citrine, Moonstone

Unbalanced: You may experience confusion, over dependency on others, repression of feelings, inability to feel joy, fear of sensuality or sex, and frustration and bitterness.

Balanced: You will have grace, feel pleasure in life, enjoy yourself, play, and find you are flexible in both body and mind.

Third Chakra (Solar Plexus): The Manipura chakra is our source of personal power.

Stone: Citrine, Topaz, Yellow Sapphire

Unbalanced: You may have a low tolerance to infection, suffer from hormone disorders, or have a low tolerance for many foods.

Balanced: You will interpret the world through your own thoughts and emotions, and not live in fear of violating the dictums of others.


Fourth Chakra (Heart): The Connection Between Matter and Spirit. Located at the heart center, the fourth chakra, anahata is at the middle of the seven and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The fourth is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection.

Stone: Peridot, Emerald

Unbalanced: You may feel like you are a martyr, jealousy, lack of empathy and fear of intimacy may arise.

Balanced: You will look at the past for the gift of the experiences, admit mistakes and let go of guilt and blame. You will forgive yourself, or others, in order to move forward. 


Fifth Chakra (Throat): The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. 

Stone: Sapphire, Aquamarine, Blue Topaz, Lapis Lazuli

Unbalanced: You may suffer from sore throats, tight jaws, stiff neck, and headaches, feeling fear and doubt about the intentions of others, or find yourself stammering or at a loss for words

Balanced: You can express what you think and feel. You can communicate your ideas, beliefs, and emotions. When the throat chakra is in balance and open, you can bring our personal truth out into the world.


Sixth Chakra (Third Eye): The Ajna chakra is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra.

Stone: Amethyst, Lapis Lazuli, Labradorite, Tanzanite, Sapphire

Unbalanced: You will be confused, have difficulty seeing things clearly, and knowing what is important and what is not. You will not have command of your body or your thoughts. You will suffer headaches, ear aches and have vision problems. 

Balanced: You will see clearly and understand what we see. We are able to interpret visual cues and our perception is high. Our thoughts and internal communications with ourselves are healthy and vibrant.


Seventh Chakra (Crown): The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head. 

Stone: Amethyst, White Topaz

Unbalanced: You might feel clumsy, uncoordinated, and easily confused. Your thinking will be less flexible and you'll feel disconnected spiritually. You will be rigid in your ways and have difficulty understanding relationships, ideas, and dreams.

Balanced: You feel open minded, like you truly fit in the world and that you know your place in the universe. You see things as they are and let things roll off your back.


Gemstones and the Chakras

I've written about the gemstone for each month, its meaning, powers and how it relates to the Chakras.

You can read all about them here:

January: Garnets

February: Amethysts

March: Aquamarine

April: White Topaz

May: Emerald

June: Moonstone and Alexandrite

July: Ruby

August: Peridot

September: Sapphire

October: Pink Tourmaline

November: Citrine

December: Blue Topaz


Sign up now